Energy supplier Entega hacked – data is on the dark web

B2B Cyber ​​Security ShortNews
Display

Share post

ENTEGA IT subsidiary COUNT+CARE GmbH & Co. KG was attacked back in June, the system data was encrypted with ransomware and a lot of customer data was stolen. According to Entega, a ransom in the high tens of millions was demanded, which was not paid. Well, in July 2022, much of the customer data can be found on the dark web, as threatened. According to experts, the APT group "Black Cat" is at work here.

Cyber ​​criminals who attacked the ENTEGA IT subsidiary COUNT+CARE GmbH & Co. KG on the second weekend in June placed personal data from ENTEGA customers, employees and business partners on the so-called dark web. According to the current state of knowledge, the criminal publication of the data affects a large number of customers of ENTEGA and its subsidiaries, whose names, addresses and consumption data are affected.

Display

Lots of Entega customer data on the dark web

“We deeply regret this incident. Together with the investigating authorities, we have done everything we can since the beginning of the criminal attack to clear up the incident and quickly make the affected systems functional again," says ENTEGA company spokesman Michael Ortmanns. Currently, it is still being evaluated at high pressure which data was stolen.

"We will immediately provide all information about the criminal attack and its consequences on our website," said the spokesman. COUNT+CARE, a subsidiary of ENTEGA AG, fell victim to a cyber attack in June. Among other things, the company's websites and customer portals were blocked. The affected IT systems were immediately isolated and secured, and an investigation by external IT specialists was initiated. ENTEGA immediately informed the responsible data protection and security authorities.

Display

Critical infrastructure (KRITIS) not affected

At no time was there any danger to the so-called critical infrastructure – i.e. the gas, electricity, water and district heating networks operated by ENTEGA and its subsidiaries. "There was no risk of power, water, gas or heat failures," said ENTEGA spokesman Michael Ortmanns.

The damage caused by the cybercriminals has now been largely repaired. The websites and customer portals of ENTEGA can be accessed normally again. Extensive measures have been taken to protect those affected as comprehensively as possible. These include, among other things, resetting the password when accessing meineentega.de online. ENTEGA asks customers to be vigilant regarding suspicious letters, emails, phone calls (mobile/landline), text messages or other unusual activity, particularly on online accounts, including meineentega.de.

Bank details and passwords published

The bank details of some customers were also published. Those affected will be informed individually by ENTEGA. ENTEGA asks these customers in particular to check their bank accounts regularly and, if necessary, to change the passwords used for online banking. However, the company points out that due to the Europe-wide binding two-factor authentication for online banking, the risk of unauthorized transfers is low. There is also a risk of criminal use of the data for the other parties involved. In individual cases, it could happen that those affected receive more spam mails or unsolicited advertising calls in the future. Entega provides further information for customers and a hotline on its website.

More at ENTEGA.ag

 

Matching articles on the topic

Relaxation when there is a shortage of skilled workers in IT security

The world stands still, it seems, but appearances are deceptive. As with so many IT topics, managed security is also essential ➡ Read more

Hacker Barriers: Preventing Account Abuse with Least Privilege Approach

With traditional perimeter-based security concepts, cybercriminals usually have an easy time once they have breached this protective wall. Especially in the crosshairs ➡ Read more

Researchers uncover attacks on European aviation and defense companies

ESET researchers uncover targeted attacks against top European aerospace and defense companies. Joint investigation in cooperation with two of the European companies concerned ➡ Read more

Trends and tips for the further development of modern CISOs

Kudelski Security, the Kudelski Group's cybersecurity division, releases its new cyber business research paper "Building the Future of Security Leadership". ➡ Read more

Java malware copies passwords

G Data researchers reveal: Java malware copies passwords and also enables remote control via RDP. A newly developed in Java ➡ Read more

Trust in VPN for secure access

SANS Institute, a provider of cybersecurity training and certification, provides the Remote Worker Poll study on the prevalence of home office security ➡ Read more

Hacker group gives up and publishes keys

Sometimes hackers sneak in something like remorse or a guilty conscience and they show off their black hats ➡ Read more

Malicious Chrome extensions lead to data theft

Google Chrome Extensions and Communigal Communication Ltd. (Galcomm) domains have been exploited in a campaign that aims to track activities and data ➡ Read more

Energieversorger Entega gehackt – Daten stehen im Darknet

B2B Cyber Security ShortNews
Anzeige

Beitrag teilen

Bereits im Juni wurde ENTEGA IT-Tochter COUNT+CARE GmbH & Co. KG angegriffen, die Daten der Systeme mit Ransomware verschlüsselt und viele Kundendaten entwendet. Laut Entega wurde ein Lösegeld in hoher zweistelliger Millionenhöhe gefordert, welches aber nicht gezahlt wurde. Nun, im Juli 2022 finden sich viele der Kundendaten wie angedroht im Darknet. Nach Expertenansicht ist hier die APT-Gruppe „Black Cat“ am Werk.

Cyberkriminelle, die am zweiten Juniwochenende die ENTEGA IT-Tochter COUNT+CARE GmbH & Co. KG angegriffen hatten, haben persönliche Daten von ENTEGA-Kundinnen und Kunden, Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie Geschäftspartnern in das so genannte Darknet gestellt. Nach derzeitigem Kenntnisstand betrifft die kriminelle Veröffentlichung der Daten sehr viele Kundinnen und Kunden der ENTEGA und ihrer Tochterunternehmen, deren Namen, Anschriften und Verbrauchsdaten betroffen sind.

Anzeige

Viele Entega-Kundendaten im Darknet

„Wir bedauern diesen Vorfall sehr. Gemeinsam mit den Ermittlungsbehörden haben wir seit Beginn des kriminellen Angriffs alles dazu beigetragen, den Vorfall aufzuklären und die betroffenen Systeme schnell wieder funktionsfähig zu machen“, nimmt ENTEGA-Unternehmenssprecher Michael Ortmanns Stellung. Derzeit würde weiterhin mit Hochdruck ausgewertet, welche Daten genau gestohlen wurden.

„Wir werden umgehend auf unseren Webseiten alle Informationen zu dem kriminellen Angriff und seinen Folgen bereitstellen“, so der Sprecher. COUNT+CARE, ein Tochterunternehmen der ENTEGA AG, ist im Juni Opfer eines Cyberangriffs geworden. Dabei wurden unter anderem Webseiten des Unternehmens sowie Kundenportale blockiert. Die betroffenen IT-Systeme wurden umgehend isoliert, gesichert und eine Untersuchung durch externe IT-Spezialisten wurde eingeleitet. ENTEGA hat unverzüglich die zuständigen Datenschutz- und Sicherheitsbehörden informiert.

Anzeige

Kritische Infrastruktur (KRITIS) nicht betroffen

Eine Gefahr für die so genannte kritische Infrastruktur – also Gas-, Strom-, Wasser- und Fernwärmenetze, die von ENTEGA und ihren Tochterfirmen betrieben werden – war zu keinem Zeitpunkt gegeben. „Die Gefahr von Strom-, Wasser-, Gas- oder Wärmeausfällen war nicht gegeben“, so ENTEGA-Sprecher Michael Ortmanns.

Die von den Cyberkriminellen verursachten Schäden sind inzwischen weitgehend behoben. Die Webseiten und Kundenportale der ENTEGA sind wieder normal erreichbar. Es wurden weitgehende Maßnahmen ergriffen, um die Betroffenen möglichst umfassend zu schützen. Diese beinhalten unter anderem das Zurücksetzen des Passworts beim Onlinezugang zu meineentega.de. ENTEGA bittet die Kundinnen und Kunden um Wachsamkeit hinsichtlich verdächtiger Briefe, E-Mails, Telefonanrufe (Mobil/Festnetz), Textnachrichten oder anderer ungewöhnlicher Aktivitäten, insbesondere auf Onlinekonten, einschließlich meineentega.de.

Bankdaten und Passwörter veröffentlicht

Bei einigen Kundinnen und Kunden wurde auch die Bankverbindung veröffentlicht. Diese Betroffenen werden von ENTEGA individuell informiert. ENTEGA bittet insbesondere diese Kundinnen und Kunden, regelmäßig ihre Bankkonten zu überprüfen und ggf. die beim Onlinebanking genutzten Passwörter zu wechseln. Das Unternehmen weist aber darauf hin, dass aufgrund der europaweit bindenden Zwei-Faktor-Authentifizierung beim Online-Banking die Gefahr unberechtigter Überweisungen gering ist. Auch bei den weiteren Betroffenen gibt es die Gefahr einer kriminellen Nutzung der Daten. So könnte es im Einzelfall vorkommen, dass Betroffene künftig vermehrt Spam-Mails oder unerwünschte Werbeanrufe erhalten. Entega stellt auf seiner Webseite weitere Informationen für Kunden, sowie eine Hotline bereit.

Mehr bei ENTEGA.ag

 

Passende Artikel zum Thema

Entspannung beim Fachkräftemangel in der IT-Sicherheit

Die Welt steht still, so scheint es, doch der Schein trügt. Wie für so viele IT-Themen gehören auch Managed Security ➡ Weiterlesen

Hacker-Barrieren: Kontenmissbrauch mit Least Privilege-Ansatz verhindern

Bei traditionellen perimeterbasierten Sicherheitskonzepten haben Cyberkriminelle meist leichtes Spiel, wenn sie diesen Schutzwall erst einmal durchbrochen haben. Besonders im Fadenkreuz ➡ Weiterlesen

Forscher decken Angriffe auf europäische Luftfahrt- und Rüstungskonzerne auf

ESET-Forscher decken gezielte Angriffe gegen hochkarätige europäische Luftfahrt- und Rüstungskonzerne auf. Gemeinsame Untersuchung in Zusammenarbeit mit zwei der betroffenen europäischen Unternehmen ➡ Weiterlesen

Trends und Tipps zur Weiterentwicklung moderner CISOs

Kudelski Security, die Cybersicherheitsabteilung der Kudelski-Gruppe, veröffentlicht ihr neues Forschungspapier zum Cybergeschäft "Building the Future of Security Leadership"(Aufbau künftiger Sicherheitsexperten). ➡ Weiterlesen

Java-Malware kopiert Passwörter

G Data-Forscher decken auf: Java-Malware kopiert Passwörter und ermöglicht auch noch die Fernsteuerung via RDP. Eine in Java entwickelte neu ➡ Weiterlesen

Vertrauen auf VPN für den sicheren Zugriff

SANS Institute, ein Anbieter von Cybersicherheitsschulungen und -zertifizierungen, stellt die Untersuchung „Remote Worker Poll“ zur Verbreitung von Home Office Security ➡ Weiterlesen

Hackergruppe gibt auf und veröffentlicht Schlüssel

Manchmal beschleicht wohl auch Hacker so etwas wie Reue oder ein schlechtes Gewissen und sie geben ihre schwarzen Hüte an ➡ Weiterlesen

Bösartige Chrome Extensions führen zum Datendiebstahl

Google Chrome Extensions und Communigal Communication Ltd. (Galcomm)-Domänen sind in einer Kampagne ausgenutzt worden, die darauf abzielt, Aktivitäten und Daten ➡ Weiterlesen